Perumal Murugan - Bangalore Literature Festival (BLF)


Perumal Murugan is one of India’s most reputed contemporary writers and among our foremost literary craftsmen. He is the author of ten novels, five collections of short stories, five anthologies of poetry, and six non-fiction books mostly on language and literature. He has also edited several fiction and non-fiction anthologies. His Tamil novels Koola Maathaari, Nizhal Mutram, Madhorubagan and pookkuzhi have been translated into English as Seasons of the Palm, Current Show, One Part Woman and Pyre to popular and critical acclaim. He has received awards from the Tamil Nadu government as well as from Katha Books. Seasons of the Palm was shortlisted for the international Kiriyama Award in 2005. In 2017, the English translation of his novel Madhorubagan won the Sahitya Akademi Translation Prize.